Events

Exploring Saratoga National Historical Park

There are many ways to explore the Park, each with its own highlights.

  • Driving Tour: self-guiding driving tour along our paved 10-mile Tour Road. Features 10 interpretive wayside stops with informative signs and audio kiosks.
  • Bicycling: our paved Tour Road is a great place for bicycling. Helmets required.
  • Hiking: our Wilkinson Trail features 4.2 miles of light rolling terrain and mixed wooded and open areas. Several additional miles of unmarked hiking trails also exist.
  • Snowshoeing / X-C skiing: if you snowshoe or cross-country ski, our hiking trails become a winter wonderland of ungroomed trails. 

2018 Special Events

A more complete list of our Events may be found on our main website, www.nps.gov/sara


** NOTE: PROGRAMS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE -- call Visitor Center at 518-670-2985 for most current information**


FROST FAIRE

Saturday, January 27

11 AM to 3 PM

--winter festival


LUNCH & LEARN RANGER PROGRAM

Sunday, February 18

12 noon - 1 PM

--informal "brown bag" lunchtime program by a park ranger

--program: Grasshoppers: Britain's little light 3-pounders


LUNCH & LEARN RANGER PROGRAM

Saturday, March 24

12 noon - 1 PM

--informal "brown bag" lunchtime program by a park ranger

--program: "...for nobler action beyond", the original guided battlefield tour


NATIONAL PARK WEEK (NPW) -- APRIL 21-29

(NPW) Junior Ranger Day

Saturday, April 21

10 AM - 4 PM

Junior Ranger Rendezvous --bring your badges and stories


(NPW) Earth Day

Lunch & Learn Ranger Program

Sunday, April 22

12 noon - 1 PM

--informal "brown bag" lunchtime program by a park ranger

--program: "for the enjoyment of future generations", the history of the National Park Service


(NPW) Woodcock Walk

7 PM - 9 PM

--evening walk to observe diurnal wildlife, including woodcocks, owls, fox, and more


100-MILE WINTER CHALLENGE ENDS

Monday, April 30

--did you challenge yourself to walk/ski/snowshoe 100 miles in the park this winter?


100-MILE SUMMER CHALLENGE BEGINS

Tuesday, May 1

--would you like to challenge yourself to walk, run, hike, and/or bicycle 100 miles in the park this summer?


I LOVE MY PARK DAY

Saturday, May 5

9 AM - 12 noon

--park work and awareness day

--must pre-register at "www.ptny.org"


BASIC ORIENTEERING CLASS

Thursday, May 10

6-7 PM

--basic map & compass, simple orienteering course

--reservations required: 518-670-2985

Rain date: Thursday, May 17


BIRDING AND NATURE WALK

Saturday, May 19

10 AM - 12 noon

--nature walks to lesser-known park areas

Event cancelled if raining.


PRE-K NATURE ACTIVITY DAY

Wednesday, May 23

10 AM - 11:30 AM

--nature-based fun activities for pre-kindergarten age students


MEMORIAL DAY

Monday, May 28

11 AM, 1 PM, 3 PM

--commemorating contributions of New York soldiers during the American Revolution


BIKE TOUR

Saturday, June 9

10 AM - 12 noon


BIRDING AND NATURE WALK

Saturday, June 9

10 AM - 12 noon

--nature walks to lesser-known park areas

Event cancelled if raining.


RAPTORS ROCK!

Sunday, June 17

1:30 PM to 3 PM

--guest speaker with selection of raptors


PETER SALEM DAY

Sunday, June 17

2 PM - 3:30 PM

--presentation: "Brave and Gallant," a look at enslaved and freed black men at the Battles of Saratoga


HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, June 19

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--Battle of Freeman's Farm


HISTORY WALK

Wednesday, June 20

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--Battle of Bemus Heights


BIKE TOUR

Saturday, June 23

10 AM - 12 noon


BIRDING AND NATURE WALK

Saturday, June 23

10 AM - 12 noon

--nature walks to lesser-known park areas

Event cancelled if raining.


INDEPENDENCE DAY

Wednesday, July 4

Citizenship Ceremony

10 AM - 11 AM

--some 20 people from around the world will be sworn in as new US citizens

Reading of the Declaration of Independence

2 PM - 2:30 PM

--dramatic reading of the Declaration of Independence, followed by 13 celebratory toasts


BIKE TOUR

Sunday, July 8

10 AM - 12 noon


CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 1 of 4

Tuesday, July 10

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America

--for kids ages 5-12


ARMY TRADES WEEKEND

Saturday & Sunday, July 14 & 15

10 AM - 4 PM

--demonstrations of trades and crafts essential to army life in the American Revolution


CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 2 of 4

Tuesday, July 17

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America

--for kids ages 5-12


BIKE TOUR

Sunday, July 22

10 AM - 12 noon


CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 3 of 4

Tuesday, July 24

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America

--for kids ages 5-12


HISTORY WALK

Wednesday, July 25

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--Battle of Freeman's Farm


HISTORY WALK

Thursday, July 26

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--Battle of Bemus Heights


CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 4 of 4

Tuesday, July 31

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America

--for kids ages 5-12


HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, August 7

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--the Battles of Saratoga


NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 1 of 4

Tuesday, August 7

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: TBA


BIKE TOUR

Sunday, August 11

10 AM - 12 noon


18TH CENTURY DAY at PHILIP SCHUYLER HOUSE

Sunday, August 12

12 noon - 5 PM

--the grounds of Philip Schuyler House come alive with demonstrations of 18th-century activities, including candle dipping, beer making, chair caning, broom making, tinsmithing, spinning, puppet shows, music, and more

--hosted by the Old Saratoga Historical Association


NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 2 of 4

Tuesday, August 14

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: TBA


HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, August 21

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--the Battle of Freeman's Farm


NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 3 of 4

Tuesday, August 21

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: TBA


HISTORY WALK

Wednesday, August 22

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--the Battle of Bemus Heights


NATIONAL PARK SERVICE BIRTHDAY

Bike Tour

Sunday, August 25

10 AM - 12 noon


NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 4 of 4

Tuesday, August 28

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: TBA


HISTORY WALK

Wednesday, September 5

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--the Battle of Freeman's Farm


HISTORY WALK

Thursday, September 6

9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

--the Battle of Bemus Heights


BIRDING AND NATURE WALK

Saturday, September 8

10 AM - 12 noon

--nature walks to lesser-known park areas

Event cancelled if raining.


BIKE TOUR

Sunday, September 9

10 AM - 12 noon


241st ANNIVERSARY ENCAMPMENT

Saturday & Sunday, September 15 & 16

Saturday, 10 AM - 4 PM

Sunday, 10 AM - 3 PM

--American Camp at Tour Stop 2

--British Camp at Tour Stop 6


EVENING HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, September 19

6 PM - 7:30 PM

--join a park ranger for a guided evening walk exploring the Battles of Saratoga


BIKE TOUR

Sunday, September 23

10 AM - 12 noon


NATIONAL PUBLIC LANDS DAY

Bike Your Park Day

Saturday, September 29

10 AM - 12 noon

--3rd annual event encouraging people nationwide to explore parks by bike


100-MILE SUMMER CHALLENGE ENDS

Monday, April 30

--did you challenge yourself to walk/jog/hike/bike 100 miles in the park this summer?


HISTORY WALK

Thursday, October 4

9:30 AM - 1:00 PM

--the Battles of Saratoga


BIRDING AND NATURE WALK

Saturday, October 6

10 AM - 12 noon

--nature walks to lesser-known park areas

Event cancelled if raining.


HISTORY WALK

Sunday, October 7

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

--the Battle of Bemus Heights


CANDLELIGHT TOUR of PHILIP SCHUYLER HOUSE

Saturday, October 13

6 PM - 8 PM

--amazing ambiance by candle lit tours of Philip Schuyler House, followed by light refreshments, music, and a bonfire

--hosted by the Old Saratoga Historical Association


SURRENDER DAY

Special location: Fort Hardy Park, Schuylerville

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM


VETERANS DAY (observed)

Saturday, November 10

10 AM - 2 PM

--honoring military service past and present