Events

Exploring Saratoga National Historical Park

There are many ways to explore the Park, each with its own highlights.

  • Driving Tour: self-guiding driving tour along our paved 10-mile Tour Road. Features 10 interpretive wayside stops with informative signs and audio kiosks.
  • Bicycling: our paved Tour Road is a great place for bicycling. Helmets required.
  • Hiking: our Wilkinson Trail features 4.2 miles of light rolling terrain and mixed wooded and open areas. Several additional miles of unmarked hiking trails also exist.
  • Snowshoeing / X-C skiing: if you snowshoe or cross-country ski, our hiking trails become a winter wonderland of ungroomed trails. 

2019 Special Events

A more complete list of our Events may be found on our main website, www.nps.gov/sara


** NOTE: PROGRAMS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE -- call Visitor Center at 518-670-2985 for most current information**



WOODCOCK WALK

Thursday, April 18

7 PM - 9 PM

--evening walk to observe diurnal wildlife, including woodcocks, owls, fox, and more

--event cancelled if raining



100-MILE SUMMER CHALLENGE BEGINS

Saturday, April 20

--would you like to challenge yourself to walk, run, hike, and/or bicycle 100 miles in the park this summer?



JUNIOR RANGER DAY

Sunday, April 28

10 AM - 4 PM

--hands-on learning about National Park careers, plus a special Junior Ranger activity book



I LOVE MY PARK DAY

Saturday, May 4

9 AM - 12 noon

--park work and awareness day

--must pre-register at www.ptny.org



BIRDING AND NATURE WALK

Saturday, May 19

10 AM - 12 noon

--nature walks to lesser-known park areas

--Event cancelled if raining.



NATURE WALK

Saturday, May 18

10 AM - 12 NOON

--event cancelled if raining



KEEPING A NATURE JOURNAL

Thursday, May 23

10 AM - 12 NOON

--event cancelled if raining



SCHUYLER HOUSE & SARATOGA MONUMENT

OPEN SEASON BEGINS

Saturday, May 25 - Saturday, October 5

--Schuyler House open days:

Wednesdays - Sundays

9:30 AM - 5 PM

--Saratoga Monument open days:

Saturdays & Sundays

9:30 AM - 5 PM



MEMORIAL DAY

Monday, May 27

11 AM & 3 PM

--commemorating contributions of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Virginia soldiers during the American Revolution



NATIONAL TRAILS DAY

Saturday, June 1

--MUST e-mail park for info and registration

SARA_info@nps.gov



EVENING NATURE WALK

Tuesday, June 4

6 PM - 8 PM

--event cancelled if raining



RAPTORS ROCK!

Sunday, June 9

1:30 PM to 3 PM

--guest speaker with selection of raptors



BIRD WALK

Thursday, June 13

9 AM - 11 AM

--event cancelled if raining



HISTORY WALK

Thursday, June 13

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



NATURE WALK

Saturday, June 15

10 AM - 12 NOON

--event cancelled if raining



HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, June 25

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



INDEPENDENCE DAY

Thursday, July 4

Citizenship Ceremony

10 AM - 11 AM

--some 20 people from around the world will be sworn in as new US citizens

Reading of the Declaration of Independence

2 PM - 2:30 PM

--dramatic reading of the Declaration of Independence, followed by 13 celebratory toasts



CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 1 of 4

Wednesday, July 10

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America, for kids ages 5-12

--Tentative topic: open-fire cooking



CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 2 of 4

Wednesday, July 17

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America, for kids ages 5-12

--Tentative topic: toys and games



ARMY TRADES WEEKEND: Cloth & Clothing

Saturday & Sunday, July 20 & 21

10 AM - 4 PM



HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, July 23

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



JUNIOR BIRDER -- part 1 of 3

Tuesday, July 23

10 AM - 11:30 AM

--event cancelled if raining



CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 3 of 4

Wednesday, July 24

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America, for kids ages 5-12

--Tentative topic: dancing



JUNIOR BIRDER -- part 2 of 3

Tuesday, July 30

10 AM - 11:30 AM

--event cancelled if raining



CHILDREN'S PROGRAM SERIES -- part 4 of 4

Wednesday, July 31

1 PM - 3 PM

--hands-on programs exploring life for youngsters in 18th-century America, for kids ages 5-12

--Tentative topic: laundry



JUNIOR BIRDER -- part 3 of 3

Tuesday, August 6

10 AM - 11:30 AM

--event cancelled if raining



NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 1 of 4

Tuesday, August 6

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: Fort Ticonderoga Fife & Drum Corps



HISTORY WALK

Wednesday, August 7

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



18th CENTURY DAY at PHILIP SCHUYLER HOUSE

Sunday, August 11

12 noon - 5 PM



NATURE WALK

Tuesday, August 13

10 AM - 12 NOON

--event cancelled if raining



NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 2 of 4

Tuesday, August 13

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: Celticado (Celtic)



HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, August 20

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 3 of 4

Tuesday, August 20

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: John Hughes (West African harp)



NOONTIME MUSIC SERIES -- pt. 4 of 4

Tuesday, August 27

12 noon - 1 PM

--bring a bag lunch and enjoy these music-based explorations of history

--musicans: Rumba Flamenca



NATURE WALK

Tuesday, September 10

10 AM - 12 NOON

--event cancelled if raining



ANNIVERSARY HISTORY WALK

Thursday, September 19

12 NOON - 1:30 PM

--Battle of Freeman's Farm



SUMMER 100-MILE CHALLENGE ENDS

Saturday, September 28



DEARBORN'S LIGHT INFANTRY ENCAMPMENT

Saturday & Sunday, September 28 & 29

Saturday, 10 AM - 4 PM

Sunday, 10 AM - 3 PM

--Location: Tour Road Stop 2



HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, October 1

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



SCHUYLER HOUSE & SARATOGA MONUMENT

CLOSING DAY

Sunday, October 6



ANNIVERSARY HISTORY WALK

Monday, October 7

3 PM - 4:30 PM

--the Battles of Bemis Heights



CANDLELIGHT TOUR of PHILIP SCHUYLER HOUSE

Saturday, October 12

6 PM - 9 PM

--Location: Philip Schuyler House



HISTORY WALK

Tuesday, October 15

9:30 AM - 1 PM

--event cancelled if raining



SURRENDER DAY

Thursday, October 17

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Special location: Fort Hardy Park, Schuylerville



VETERANS DAY (observed)

Saturday, November 9

10 AM - 2 PM

--honoring military service past and present